Crock Pot Banana Bread

I think I’ve mentioned how much I love my crock pot before but that can’t be said enough…I LOVE my crock pot. :)

Tonight we had dinner from the crock pot then after dinner I decided we needed some banana bread (since we had some brown bananas sitting on the counter) Of course I did not want to turn the oven on to make bread so I decided to head to the crock pot again & let me tell you it was the right choice! Our apartment stayed cooled and we just had a yummy night snack :)

I had a flour issue that completly destroyed the kitchen so my “simple” banana bread turned into a huge mess…

I don’t normally make THAT big of a mess but this bread was worth it!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 TSP baking soda
  • 1 TSP salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 ripe bananas (large), mashed
  • 2 TBSP + 2 TSP milk
  • 1 TSP vanilla
  • 1/2 cup nuts if you prefer (I left them out because I didn’t have any on hand)

Crock pot goes to HIGH. Grease a meatloaf pan (or other metal pan that will fit in your crock pot). I used a medium meatloaf pan and it worked perfectly. Combine flour, baking soda & salt in a small bowl. Add nuts if you want. In another bowl, cream together butter & sugar, then add eggs. Mix in the milk and vanilla. Mix throughly then stir in mashed bananas. Slowly add the flour mixture and stir until combined.  Add the fixins to the meatloaf pan and put in the crock pot with the lid on for 2-3 hours. Mine stayed in about 2.5 hours. Don’t open the crock pot for at least 2 hours. Mine has a clear lid so I was able to peak through to check on it.

Here’s what my finished product looked like: (I don’t claim to be good at photographing food :p)

It was moist and delicious BUT Jacob thought it was missing something so I threw together a glaze of powered sugar, milk & vanilla to pour on top of the pieces. I’m assuming since he had 3 pieces, the glaze was the icing on the cake (literally). :)

 

-hillary

 

 

One response

Leave a Reply

